replacing serpentine belt
NEWS

1. Welcome to Honda Odyssey Forum : Odyssey Minivan Forums General discussion forum for Honda Odyssey

Welcome to Honda Odyssey Forum : Odyssey Minivan Forums - a website dedicated to all things Honda Odyssey.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, Join Honda Odyssey Forum : Odyssey Minivan Forums today!

+ Reply to Thread

Thread: replacing serpentine belt

replacing serpentine belt

Hey guys. I'm new to the world of oddys and need some help. I've replaced many a serpentine belt before but always had plenty of room before now.

What tool can you use to take off the tension from the serpentine belt tensioner? I tried a serpentine belt tool from a local autoparts store but no joy. The space I have to work with is too small to get all the tension off. The 1/2" between the frame and the tensioner only lets in a clawfoot or a small hand wrench. I'm not strong enough to take off the tension with a small 14mm open end wrench. What's the special mojo requried? Many thanks.
    2001 Oddy EX.

2. Remove Advertisements
    OdyClub.com
    Advertisements

no special mojo. try a flare nut wrench so you get good contact on 4 sides. then use a cheeter bar [sleeve] over the other end.
    Drive it like you OWN it

At least on the '02 you have to work from under the car, remove the splash shield.

got it

thanks guys. I ended up using a good quality 12 pt box end wrnech and a "perswader". Just barely enough room.
    Is there an official honda tool or honda recommended tool for this?

just replaced my serpentine belt

MY Odyssey is a '99 with just under 80,000 miles and 6 years, 1 month old.