semi-synthetic vs non synthetic oils
NEWS

1. Welcome to Honda Odyssey Forum : Odyssey Minivan Forums General discussion forum for Honda Odyssey

Welcome to Honda Odyssey Forum : Odyssey Minivan Forums - a website dedicated to all things Honda Odyssey.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, Join Honda Odyssey Forum : Odyssey Minivan Forums today!

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: semi-synthetic vs non synthetic oils

semi-synthetic vs non synthetic oils

Just bought a 200 Odyssey with 200 k miles . Love the van to death and think I got a great deal since it was well maintained and one-owner. My question is this....I am an aircraft mechanic....so I know a little about oil and I am leery of using synthetic oils in hi-milage vehicles (a local oil change company was made to replace my wife's Volvo engine for this very reason). ...So ,can I use a semi-synthetic or stick with dino-oil?....I dont wanna change the oil every 3 k but I sure as heck don't wanna clog the oil filter and smoke the engine........I understand 5w30 is what type I am to use.

Rod
    ps oil is very clean on dipstick and maintenance required lite just came on.

2. Remove Advertisements
    OdyClub.com
    Advertisements

meant to say 2000 Honda Odyssey above.

I bought mine with 150,000 miles and switched to 0w30 immediately. Two years later no leaks. I think the newer synthetics have seal conditioners to prevent leaking.
    2004 TL
    2000 Ody

If you read your Owner's manual, your 2000's OCI is 7500 miles with dino oil.