Honda Odyssey Forum banner

Streaming movies to Ody's RES screen via Apple TV (P2P Airplay)

30K views 27 replies 16 participants last post by  bigheadbobby 
#1 ·
Hello folks. I'm a newbie to this forum and this is my first forum posting after my Ody purchase. :)
I purchased 2015 Odyssey TE two weeks ago and I've been wondering if anyone tried using Apple TV to stream movies from iPhone/iPad to RES screen without WIFI connection.

For those who didn't hear about Apple's p2p airplay update, Apple TV now supports p2p airplay without WIFI connection. So you can mirror your iPhone/iPad's screen (and sound) to your RES via Apple TV.

See "Peer-to-peer AirPlay" section:
Use AirPlay to wirelessly stream content from your iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch
Stream to your friends' TVs: Apple bringing peer-to-peer AirPlay to Apple TV via iOS 8

I've tried to search some info/review of P2P airplay with Rear Entertainment System but I wasn't able to find any from the Internet.

So I decided to purchase an Apple TV and see how p2p airplay works with Odyssey's RES

Funny thing was that even Apple store's staffs didn't realize that there was a p2p airplay update. When I asked them about p2p airplay, a coupld of employees at Apple store told me "you must have a WIFI for your screen mirroring".
And after I showed them a couple of links from official Apple pages, they said "well, you could try and if it doesn't work you can always return within 30 days". So I just purchased and hooked up Apple TV in my ody.

In order to use/test p2p airplay, I had to go through a long long Apple tv's OS update and shutdown my WIFI router at home, but in a nutshell, it works great with my Ody RES.
So I just want to let you guys know, if anyone wanted to stream movies from your Apple devices without burning DVD hassles, this solution will work well with your Ody RES.