Honda Odyssey Forum banner

Anybody pull an Ody behind a Class A RV?

36K views 12 replies 12 participants last post by  OEDRO Car Part 
#1 ·
We are thinking of getting a Class A RV. To go anywhere once we reach a campground, we must have a pull-along vehicle. I was wondering if anyone used their Ody for this? I know the Honda CRV is one of the few vehicles that you can successfully pull with all four wheels on the highway, I wonder about the Ody? Thanks in advance for any answers.

#2 ·
I'm no expert, but I've seen RV's towing small vehicles behind with all 4 wheels on the pavement or with the front wheels on a small trailer of sorts. If I were going to tow a vehicle I would do it with the front wheels off the pavement and on a trailer. Much less wear and tear on the drivetrain components, IMO. Is it that hard to set up a system like that?

#4 ·
I hate to disagree but during our circumnavigation of the USA (still continuing) we see many different vehicles being towed with all 4 wheels on the ground, including many that usually are 4 wheel drive such as Explorer, Jeeps etc.

Perhaps folks are ruining their vehicles and don't know any better?

#5 ·
Timming is everything

Was in Center City Philadelphia today and saw just what you asked. A 36 foot RV towing a 2000 Ody on a dolly. Both front wheels off the ground and this guy was going down one ways streets like he owned them not to mention lunch hour foot traffic as well. So to answer your question I have seen it with my own eyes. Go for it. Best of luck.

#6 ·
www.ahm-ownerlink.com
2001 Odyssey
TOWING YOUR HONDA BEHIND A MOTORHOME
Your Odyssey's Owner's Manual advises against towing at more than 35 mph or for more than 50 miles. However, this recommendation exists primarily because Honda has not conducted formal towing tests at higher speeds and for greater distances.