Honda Odyssey Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First post, but I've read probably a hundred pages of transmission posts on here! A lot of great info and I have to start with a really dumb question... (I've been working on cars and karts for 25 years, but not too much of this mysterious automatic transmission stuff!).

Super short question version: Is is possible that I'm just not reading my tranny dipstick correctly? I see fluid on it between the dots, but it's not really, really obvious that it isn't just fluid picked up from the tube itself. Should it be super obvious?

Now the long version:

This is on an 04 with 120,000 miles, original owner. Transmission had the 2nd gear fix put on it by dealer long ago. Fluid changed per schedule by dealer.

We have been noticing that the lag when selecting D after P or R was getting longer and whine at idle for a little while now (maybe last couple of months). My wife called and said she barely made it home yesterday due to slippage and just got it into the garage. I checked fluid level and it smells burnt badly and I think low.

I ran out this morning and grabbed 12 Q of valvoline Maxlife fluid (no access to Honda fluid today on a Sunday holiday weekend). Put the van up on my lift and performed a fluid change. My process was:

1. Drained, added 2 Q, drove and got it into all gears four times including reverse.
2. Repeat.
3. Repeat.
4. Repeat final time and added about 4 Q.

Drove van about 10 miles and it seemed fine. No slip, no codes, no smell...

Wife took van to drop off kid at friends house about 20 miles away and she didn't make it :-(. This came within a couple hundred yards of her destination and it started slipping in (guessing) 3rd gear and then zero drive at all - just engine revving, including from a stop. She got it safely off the road and called me. I took some fluid and my code reader since she had said there was a check engine light.