Honda Odyssey Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
New to this site...sorry if this topic has been beat into the ground.

I'm trying to change the serpentine belt, but I can't find a manual showing pics/diagrams of how best to do this. What direction does the tension pulley go when pressure is applied? Up, down, etc. Any special tools required? I'm having a little trouble getting a wrench in there.

Am I suppose to use the torque head hole on the pulley itself, or the nut that is just off to the side of the pulley?

Clearly I am a novice, so thanks in advance for the help.

PJ

·
Registered
3,116 Posts

·
Registered
1,394 Posts
you push the top pulley away from you to take the tension off the belt (for putting it on, get it around everything except the power steering pump, then push the tensioner away from you (towards the van) slip the belt over the PS pump, then gently release the tension) You can do it with a 14mm socket and a breaker bar, or get a serpentine belt tool (basically the same thing, but lower profile) - also, it helps if you remove the PS resevoir and put the lines out of the way to get yourself some space.

edit - just noticed the serp belt tools were mentioned above - if you have the time, and they are longer than whatever breaker bar or socket wrench you have, I'd get the tool.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks a ton to both of you for your replies! I just bought this van last week, and we are hopeful it was money well spent.

I may try to move the ps reservoir as you suggested.

·
Registered
3,116 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
CNN-

Just now starting to have the problem with the psp whining. It was just like described in the TSB: 30 minutes or longer run time in temps between 30?-40? degrees.