Honda Odyssey Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey there. This is my first time posting but I have been reading through here a bit. We have a 2004 EX-L with less than 64,000 miles on it, and we are the original owners. The car is in great shape, and we follow the maintenance schedule to the letter.

On a recent trip we noticed that the cruise control no longer was working. When you push the "Cruise" button under the "TCS Off" button, the light would go on, but nothing would show up on the dash display itself, and the cruise would not engage using the steering wheel controls. We also noticed that the clock light no longer works (but the clock) still works.

We just had our independent mechanic look at it, and they said the fuses all worked and that the leads to cruise control module all were good and that power was getting to the module. Their best guess (without pulling everything apart) was that the module and/or the actuator would need to be replaced) but they wouldn't know for sure unless they pulled it all apart. They said that the approximate price if the module had to be replaced would be around $400 and if for some reason both the module and the actuator had to be replaced it would be around $800.

So, my question is, is this a common occurrence as well, and something worth pursuing with Honda (to see if they would kick in something), or is this just one of those things that goes with cars and I should just decide whether I can live with it or not? I have plans to keep this car for a long time give that it is well maintained, has low mileage and is paid for, but things like this always give me pause. (I also have a 2006 Honda Accord that now has the SRS airbag light go on, but only when the temperature is below 32 degrees.) We also have had to replace one of the rear window motors a few years ago (a common occurrence I am finding out here) and a belt tensioner at one point.

Any suggestions are appreciated!

·