Honda Odyssey Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey All, I'm new to this so bear with me

I have a 2004 Odyssey EX with 57,xxx miles. I purchased it 02/2011. I had it checked out prior to me purchasing it and checked out fine. Now I've got a nice little ping/tap. I wouldn't consider it a knock yet. I've had a few places look at it. Answers range from bad rod, wrist pin, spark plug, to get a new used engine because it's cheaper than it would be to rebuild the engine/motor. The places that have checked it out all came to the same conclusion the noise is coming from the bottom/lower end of motor=not good.

Any suggestions/thoughts?
Thanks guys

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Great question...no noise does not go away regardless of cold/warm. I'm not 100% on what you mean by poor fuel pinging?

·
Registered
6,861 Posts
Mine has ticked like a bomb since day one. I have had it back to have valves adjusted because they said the noise was not normal. They adjusted the valves, noise did not go away and they also adjusted their opinion....The noise was then normal. Honda Sucks! People ask me all the time....What the hell is that Noise....I simply tell them..

That is the sound of Honda Quality.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
That's what I'm starting to find out. Not sure if it's worth to keep sinking money into to, to get opinions and then of course every opionin is different. So I will continue to drive it until it doesn't drive correctly. Thankfully it still drives/rides like normal

Mine has ticked like a bomb since day one. I have had it back to have valves adjusted because they said the noise was not normal. They adjusted the valves, noise did not go away and they also adjusted their opinion....The noise was then normal. Honda Sucks! People ask me all the time....What the hell is that Noise....I simply tell them..

That is the sound of Honda Quality.

·
Registered
6,861 Posts