Honda Odyssey Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm looking at a green/gray 2006 odyssey touring with 113,000 miles on it from a honda dealer. All the service records are on carfax and are up to date. It is listed on the internet for $14,998. I was hoping to get it for $13k out the door. Am I thinking realistically? or should I keep looking for something that is listed for cheaper. This is the first car my wife and I will be buying so I'm new to the whole negotiating thing.

·
Registered
854 Posts
Realistic?

The worst they can say is "no."

Although a good documented service history is a big plus, 13 grand for high miles certainly can't be considered a great bargain so just be prepared to walk.

·
Registered
48 Posts
True, all they can say is no. Though I just bought a similar vehicle for around that price.
I felt comfortable because it was a single owner that had all records since new. They had done all dealer work including the 105k tune up along with engine mounts.
A lot of guys here will say to stay away or look for something better but I say that you will know what your options are, just do your homework and look around before buying this one.

·
Registered
3 Posts
I am a dealer and auction prices for Touring models with that mileage range from $10k to $13k right now. As with any used car, miles, condition, and service history are crucial. One thing that will make it more difficult to sell is the fact that it will be hard to get a loan on one with that much mileage. That will take a high percentage of the buyers out of the market for it. I don't know what your taxes and fees are in your area, but here a $13k OTD price would be the equivalent of about $11800. I would say you're close on your number, but a lot will depend on how they acquired it (trade, auction), if they had to spend much on it to prep it for the lot, and how long they've had it. Hope this helps and good luck!

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #5