Honda Odyssey Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi I just recently get my 2016 honda oddessy ex-l and I noticing it's shaking when I driving on freeway, it have 45000 miles on it, just want to ask it's because on the VCM?
It's my first time to have the oddessy, and I was reading in the forum that people disable their VCM, it is better to disable my vcm on my 2016 van ? And what are dis advantage disabling it?
Any matters thank you!

·
Registered
2013 Odyssey Touring, 2018 Volvo V60
264 Posts
There is no real disadvantage to disabling VCM.

As for the shaking, it may or may not have anything to do with the VCM. Are you getting any check engine lights or error codes? Or is it just shaking? Have you had your alignment checked and wheels balanced? Suspension checked? Motor mounts? It could be any number of things and will need more information to make an informed guess.

·
Registered
4,765 Posts
solid advice above.

you're kind of scant on details, and pivoted to VCM which may or may not be the specific cause in your scenario.

regardless, disabling the VCM is always a good start!

Vibration could also be related to tires/rims, burned out transmission fluid, bad axle, or a ball joint / lower control arm or tie rod.

is the vibration more noticeable under acceleration or just cruising, at what speeds is it more noticable?

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·

As for the shaking, it may or may not have anything to do with the VCM. Are you getting any check engine lights or error codes? Or is it just shaking? Have you had your alignment checked and wheels balanced? Suspension checked? Motor mounts? It could be any number of things and will need more information to make an informed guess.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
solid advice above.

you're kind of scant on details, and pivoted to VCM which may or may not be the specific cause in your scenario.