Honda Odyssey Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi I am a noob here and hope I am posting in the right place. FYI, I have some car knowledge (do my oil changes, brakes and followed youtube videos to swap the sliding door mechanisms in our old Sienna) but I haven't touched the engine much.

I am besides myself with our 2016 Ody. I let my relative convince me to get it from a used car dealer 2 years ago and let's just say it has only been problems (turns out it was previous lease with an accident O_O).

Slight background. Last year P0420 came on and it was running rough (RPMs all over the place, wooshing noise from the engine, high fuel consumption). Took it to the dealer and they replaced the catalytic converter and that was under the standard warranty.

Sunday the CEL came on flashing with a bunch of other lights so of course I stopped driving it. Codes are P0420 and P0301 and after reading about it, it sounds terrible. So I scheduled an appointment with the dealer but I am afraid of the costs involved because we are over 65k miles and wondering if I need to tow the car there so they don't blame things one me driving it this way. This morning I turned the car one and the CEL is on but not flashing and car doesn't shake so I assume no more misfire at the moment. It still kind of sounds a bit messy.

Now I am reading about the VCM issues and I wonder if this is all related, especially if they find fouled spark plugs. But then again, my car is a 2016 and the covered VCM wear issues are for models up to 2013 I think. I am reading on various forums that newer models are also having similar issues but I haven't read whether Honda covered the repairs if outside the Powertrain Warranty. So would the dealership tell me I am out of luck and to pay all the potential repairs?

If they just keep saying it is the catalytic converter, is that under a separate Emission Warranty for 8 years/80k miles (I think)?