Honda Odyssey Forum banner

1 - 20 of 65 Posts

·
Registered
250 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Yesterday, my 05 ody had check engine light came on. I took it to the dealership, and 3 hours later, they told me my engine only had 1qt of oil left.

I was like, "do you see any leaks anywhere? Bottom, top, side, anywhere under the hood?" They told me no. I asked them to check to make sure, again in the morning, but no sign of leak.

I checked my drive way for sign of engine oil leak, nothing there either.

Just as a back ground, I do my oil change. I use Mobile 1 with honda filter. I've been doing this since 2006. I get about 10k out of it.

If engine burned the oil, I can understand maybe 1qt or so. Not 3.75 qts. Where did it go?

Dealership is saying your engine oil got burned...I was like WTF. They recommend I change my oil every 5k and monitor. This is so weird. I didn't see any black smoke coming from tail pipe either (which indicates burning oil)

Any idea??? Or anyone with similar problem?

·
Super Moderator
13,872 Posts
Could you have made a mistake and not filled it the whole 4.75 quarts? If you only put in say 2 quarts and then a quart got burnt may be?

Also, just because the dealership says you only have 1 qt left, that doesn't mean you only really have 1 qt left. You might be low but I doubt they measured it to be exactly 1 qt.

·
Registered
318 Posts
I beleive (not 100% sure) that Honda considers 1QT consumed per 1000 miles to be within normal range.

If you never check the oil level in a 10,000 mile OCI, shame on you. You should check it and top off every 1000 miles.

black smoke = too rich fuel mixture
blue smoke = oil
white smoke = water/antifreeze

it sounds like you need to monitor what is going on with your oil levels and get more specifics.

·
Registered
250 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks folks for reply.