Honda Odyssey Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, this is my first time posting here. I recently just inherited a 1997 Honda Odyssey 93K actual miles. Good timing too cause we needed a new vehicle anyways. First of all I have say I'm acutally pretty inpressed with this little van. I plan to take care of it and try to make it last another 10 years as our family car.

My concern is that we are wanting to take a long trip and I am worried that this little 4 cylinder won't be able to handle the strain and that it might be too much weight for it. There will be 6 adults with an average weight of 250lbs each. I just finished doing all the 100k maintenance stuff and it's running perfectly. I think I saw that the GVW was 2150kg (I think that's 4730lb) and the vehicles actual weight by its self is about 3000lbs. I might be wrong about the amounts but had no luck finding for sure online. Plus nothing beats reviews from actual owners.

Am I pushing it too far for this awsome little van? and if so then what can I do about it? do I just need to take 2 cars or take a different vehicle?

any advice would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
947 Posts
Your van will handle it just fine. You should make sure the timing belts, water pump and drive belts have been changed by now as well as the upper and lower radiator hoses. Also make sure the coolant isnt too old and that the transmission fluid has been changed within the last 30K miles. If all those are in check I wouldnt worry one bit. Don't forget to check your oil level before you leave as well.

·
Registered
136 Posts
I wouldn't do it. I have taken 3 adults and two kids on trips over 15 years in a full sized sedan, then a station wagon, then a rented minivan, then the Ody. The rented van and the Ody work out the best. The hired van is better.