Honda Odyssey Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2006 Odyssey EX 268,000 miles
69 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello friends. I have recently pulled a catalytic convertor code on my '06 Odyssey. Just to be sure I cleared the code and within a few days it showed up again.
My scanner said most often caused by a fuel trim running too rich on the same bank. So it looks like I am going to have to put a new cat on it, but do I need to get the fuel trims adjusted also? I have no working knowledge about fuel trims. How they work, how to adjust them, or even how to know if they need to be adjusted and what proper tolerances should be for them.

Last year I adjusted the valves, cleaned the EGR valve, replaced the PCV valve, new plugs, new wires, all new O2 sensors, 6 new fuel injectors, new valve cover gaskets, cleaned throttle body, flushed the radiator, etc.

Just parked it until I had a little time to look into it more but found out today my wife may need to drive the van to texas to pick some stuff up, so I need to figure this out.
I have no idea how to remedy the fuel trim situation. It may take an expensive high tech scanner and a knowledgable tech to do that.

I usually do all the work on my vehicles myself but this one is completely out of my knowledge level.

Any help would be appreciated by some of you more experienced guys.

·
Registered
69 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
thanks for your response. I didn't mean to suggest that a bad cat would cause fuel trim issues but that a rich fuel trim would cause your cat to stop up. At least that is the way I understand it. I think you might be on to something here though as far as possibly my cat code might go away if I have the trim mixture adjusted. I will look into this. many thanks

·
Registered
280 Posts