Honda Odyssey Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi folks,
Welp got a few road trips upcoming and of course our 2016 Odyssey started acting up. My better 2/3rds was on the road near the dealership so I said head over. After they did the diagnosis, it was the coil pack on #6. 117K and I was going to do the timing belt, etc soon, but they recommended it be done now.
I’m not a mechanic but I got tools. I was going to skip it but the guy said “Your tensioner is leaking oil”…I replied “Engine oil”, now don’t pick on me but I didn’t think the tensioner had anything to do with engine oil but again I’m no expert and haven’t really worked on cars since I was a kid. The timing belt full maintenance was $1750, and he quoted $550 for plugs + 1 coil pack. I’ve done plugs before and I consider the coil pack plug and play. While I considered that part of the quote, as I already told him it was ridiculously high, he called and said “We’ll, we could just do the 1 coil pack and 1 plug”, he’d said that had to be done for test drive after the timing belt service, which made sense. I’d told him well, I can do that in your parking lot in 5 minutes….but anyways, how much for just 1 coil pack and the one plug? He quoted me $400, or the $550 for all plugs plus 1 coil pack
The numbers: 1 coil pack $117 + 1 plug $20, so $137. That leaves $263 by my math. Now I’m not cheap but $263 for labor seems high, even in the USA…lol.
What am I missing if anything. I paid total w/tax $2,400.
To pay for the repair, I sold 3 quarters and 1 Penny on Ebay.
Azure Font Electric blue Brand Logo

·
Registered
2015 Odyssey EX
2,861 Posts
Did you overpay? In a word - yes. But all's well that ends well so don't worry about it.