Honda Odyssey Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

Just bought my first Honda last week. It's a 09 oddy EX. I am very pleased. Looking for some info on what type of oil (5W-20 is what it says) and what brand oil is most commonly used. I have been using Quaker State for the last 20 years but I think it's time for a change. I had asked the dealer and he was not sure but said it was a semi-synthetic. I have never used a semi and was looking for some feedback for a good brand and how often to change it. I think I'm gonna go with a Purolater filter.

Thanks for the help

·
Registered
12 Posts
I use Mobil 1 full synthetic and mobil1 or purolator filters. 8 years and 4 cars ago I spent 4 oil changes testing filters and oils on my then Pathfinder. The Mobil1 and Purolator filters kept the oil much cleaner than any other brands. I change at 5K intervals, but I know people who run full synthetic out to 7 or 10k miles.

·
Registered
117 Posts
I use Castrol GTX.
IMO, I've tried synthetic, and I've noticed no notable difference, except on my wallet. Unless of course you go with AMSOIL which has a change interval of 25,000KM or 1 Year

·
Registered
58 Posts
I brought a used 08 EX few months back and did the first change this weekend
Castrol GTX 5-30W and Bosch 3323 filter. Autozone had a deal where stp/oil was 21$ and for 2$ more i could get a bosch filter.I went with this.

I am looking to buy bosch filters in bulk somewhere as my yahama fz1 motorcycle uses the same filter now. a year supply as i change oil on my motorcycle every 3k. so every year i need 4 filters.

·
Registered
8,862 Posts
I use Castrol GTX.
IMO, I've tried synthetic, and I've noticed no notable difference, except on my wallet. Unless of course you go with AMSOIL which has a change interval of 25,000KM or 1 Year