Honda Odyssey Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm no expert on tires, but I thought I would share my experience. I live in Wisconsin and was looking for a good all season tire to replace the lame OEM Michelins that wore out at 40,000 on my 2007 Odyssey EX-L. Because Goodyear offers a 30-day no hassle guarantee, I tired the Goodyear Assurance TripleTred. They were rated high on Consumer Reports and I liked the idea that they were rated excellent in snow and ice. I was a bit concerned though because I had read terrible reviews about road noise and a hard ride. The Goodyear guy said "Don't pay attention to those reviews; they were for an older model tire - these are a new redesign for 2011." OK, I went for it. From my experience, I would NOT recommend the Goodyear Assurance TripleTreds. They gave a very hard ride. I thought I was driving a dump truck. I felt EVERY bump -- and hard. As for road noise, there was some, but I was concerned it might worsen as the tires aged. I only had a few instances to try them in the snow and ice and they did feel very good and secure in these conditions. Maybe if I lived in Alaska, or the Colorado mountains where I had to deal with snow a lot, I would choose the TripleTred. I went back to the dealer and switched to the Goodyear Assurance ComforTred Touring. They guy at Goodyear (a different one) said he would have never recommended the TripleTred for an Odyssey or Sienna. It was a great choice. The ComforTreds are indeed smooth and quiet. I feel like I'm driving a car instead of a dump truck. I tested them in snow and ice and they performed well. So I recommend the Assurance ComforTred touring.

·
Registered
5 Posts