Honda Odyssey Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
910 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have changed the headunit to a Pioneer masterunit with a 7" retractable screen. I have a few questions regarding the amp of the system. My headunit has a power rating of 45 x 6, 4 channel for the speakers, one for center speaker, and one for subwoofer. Suppose I connect the 4 channel to my stock speakers normally and then add a subwoofer. How much power do I actually get from the headunit to the subwoofer ? I don't think 45w is enough, but it says it is able to run a subwoofer without an external amp. I am so confused !!

·
Premium Member
2,140 Posts
I'm assuming you have an AVM-P9000R, correct? Though I have no direct experience with this unit or Pioneer A/V units, I'm assuming they use the same Mosfet 45 ICs as in their other head units.

Here are the specs:
45Wx6 Max/Ch
22W/Ch RMS 50-15KHz, 5% THD

What this means is that the amp section really is not ideal for sub use, but could be fine, depending on the application.

Now I could really confuse you, but the bottom line is this:
1) what are your expectations for how loud and how deep your low end will be?
2) what exact subwoofer setup are you planning on using?

Answer these two questions and I can provide some good direction. If you are looking to shake windows using small woofers in a sealed box, forget it. If you wanna throw a big multi-order bandpass enclosure in the back with some larger size drivers, for good effect, that's very doable. Obviously, there's ALOT of middle ground.

IMHO, I'm always conservative in powering subs.. I power subs with 2x-10X power depending on the setup(really). I usually like a very purist type of sound and I tend to prefer medium to larger drivers in small sealed boxes. This usually requires alot of amp power for reasonable SPLs.

Let me know if you have any other questions.

------------------
-Shin John
'01 DEP EX, and I'm workin' on it! (slowly)

·
Premium Member
2,140 Posts