Honda Odyssey Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was hoping that someone could help with a question concerning my 2002 EX. I have a Liftmaster garage door opener with a rolling code. I have been trying to set up the buttons, and have not been able to get the buttons to program. A friend of mine has the the exact same car and has been unable to program his on a Liftmaster either. We followed the directions in the Odyssey manual and the Liftmaster manuals (they are slightly different), but to no avail.

·
Registered
1,993 Posts
I didn't have any problems when I programmed mine. I have a Sears opener that's under a year old.

Is your Liftmaster a Homelink device? I'd think it is.

Where in the instructions do you think something's going wrong?

·
Registered
628 Posts
Tell us the procedure you followed.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Liftmaster is the name of the garage door opener that I own. It has a variable code, which means that it changes upon each use. This means also that the car needs to be programmed from the garage opener iteself, rather than just from the remote door opener.

What I did was press the two outside Homelink buttons for about 20 seconds to clear the existing information (the red light starts to flash). I then went to the garage door opener and pressed the "learn" button on the opener until the indicator light went on. I then pressed the left Homelink button for 5 seconds each three times. I also tried a number of different iterations of pressing the Homelink buttons (20 seconds at a time, 10 seconds at a time, pressing Homelink before the "learn" button, after the "learn" button). I also tried the center and right Homelink buttons to see if that might help.

This was tried on two different Odysseys, since a friend was over and couldn't get his to work either!!

·
Registered
1,846 Posts
<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by rickse: