Honda Odyssey Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Yesterday I changed the transistor assembly on my 2003 Honda Odyssey. I did this after reading of the same problems that others had, and this fixed there's. My air conditioner worked for about 30 minutes. Then (set at 71 degrees) it suddenly cut off. I turned it to 60 degrees and I got a face full of hot air again. My husband is pushing to take it to a mechanic, but I hate to. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

·
Registered
463 Posts
I'm no expert, but I believe the symptoms that would suggest a bad transistor assembly would be no blowing air at all. If air is blowing, that should mean the blower (near the transistor assembly) is working. If your problem is warm air, my initial thought would be to check the freon level. It might help to be more specific in your symptoms before and after the replacement, like when you say cut off, it totally stopped blowing again? Maybe others can help more.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
From reading previous posts on this site and others, they said that the air would blow hot air, wide open, at the highest and lowest settings when the transistor assembly went bad. I, and some others who were posting, thought there must be two different problems; however, when they changed their transistor assemblies their problems went away. Mine went away temporarily. We drove for about 20 minutes with great cool air. We stopped for lunch (cut it off for about 1 hour), and then drove about another 10 minutes before it quit.

When it quit, the blower cut off. The display was still showing that it should be in Auto at 71 degrees. We tried turning it down to 60, and after several seconds it finally came back on full force with hot (outside temp.) air.

·
Registered
463 Posts