Honda Odyssey Forum banner
1 - 20 of 50 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
my regular jack stand gets it up to 14inches, and while putting down jackstands this drops to 12-13inches or so. not enough to get enough leverage on the drain bolt.
I suppose I need a new jack-lift which can go higher?

·
Registered
880 Posts
Why do you did so much height? If you have access to a driveway/sidewalk, Do what I've been doing for 30+ years.

Drive parallel to driveway, put passenger wheel on sidewalk. For me, plenty of room to slide under, drain oil.
Very safe too. No danger of jack slipping. Also, use Fumoto valve. No need to remove drain bolt.

·
Registered
2015 Odyssey EX
2,543 Posts
I use a floor jack and jack stands as well, but I don't have any trouble getting enough leverage under the van. To be honest, I've never measured how high I raise it - it's always an eyeball measurement of "Aah that's good enough."

Instead of buying a new floor jack, what about trying a height extender? [LINK] Personally, I'd look at this as an opportunity to refresh the garage tool kit and look for a higher lifting jack, but that isn't the cheapest possible option. ;)

·
Registered
880 Posts
Try my version. Another benefit. If you drip oil, it just falls on the asphalt street. Never measured the "height", but with the front wheel on the sidewalk, had plenty of room.:)

·
Registered
9,784 Posts
The drain bolt shouldn't be that hard to remove if it was tightened correctly with a torque wrench last time.

Dave

Reactions: amm888

·
Registered
149 Posts
12" is way more than you need for an oil change. I use a pair of ramps which raise the van about 6".

What are you trying to do that need so much clearance? Even with a 3' cheater bar you don't need 12" of clearance.

·
Registered
440 Posts