Honda Odyssey Forum banner

1 - 20 of 77 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Like many of you, I'm struggling with my darn TPMS sensors. I just bought winter tires + steel wheels + new TPMS sensors for my 2007 Odyssey EX-L. Now... I want to get rid of the "TPMS" light!

What I found on the net is that Touring model (also on MDX and Ridgeline) has what they call an "initiator" that sends a 125 Khz signal to the TPMS sensor inside the wheel to activate the sensor (submitting their sensor IDs). What it does is that all owners of Touring models can rotate their tires or swap their wheels without hassles (lucky guys...). The system only needs a reading from the sensor for a continuous 40 seconds before it accepts it.

Unfortunately... that is not my case! However, my brother-in-law just bought a TPMS tool (Bartec Tech 300 Tire Pressure Monitoring Tool) on ebay that allow activation and diagnostic of TPMS sensors. So with "that" I would be able to activate my sensors (the tool can send the required 125 Khz signal). However, the tool's manual talks says that you need to put your car in "learning mode" for the new TPMS sensors to be recognized and kept by the car.

So my questions, is there is any Honda tech out there that know how do I need to do in my EX-L to put the car in learning mode?

I know it's the last piece of the puzzle because my b-in-l just reprogrammed is Mazda Tribute with the tool and I found some people with similar success on the net with various make of vehicle.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
643 Posts
I dont know to answer your question.

but i do know this, Honda dealer charged me for $ 110 for what are you trying to do, which is Reset the TPMS.

I watched what they done when they reset tpms on my car.
what they do is put my car on the jack , they drop all the tire air to less than 20 psi at the same time , you need for 4 ppl to do this and at the same time.
Then they turn on my car and put drive while in the jack for 5 mnt. so the sensor will read the psi , then you fill the tire air up to 35 psi and drive the car. Tech guy said that usually will work this way. but in my case this doesnt work.

Why ? because I replaced to 18" mdx rims, so the tech guy use that honda computer system to reset all the tire spec to match with my 18" wheel and it works. This process took 2 hour to do it
and I think Dealer is the only way to go.

they also said when i go back to 16 inch tire I have to do the same process all over again.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)
I just got an answer from a Honda technician: "you will not be able to put the TPMS system into learning mode without a visit to your dealer".

Here's the link for more details:
http://www.ridgelineownersclub.com/forums/showthread.php?p=258316#post259499

The only way to reset the TPMS control unit is to hook the Honda Diagnostic Tool (HDS). I've look on the net for the fun... it over 7000$ :rolleyes:

So I guess that leaves me with no option and to do like others: a visit to my Honda dealer :(
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
173 Posts
I've been looking at the Touring service manual I have to see if there is any info regarding the EX model and there isn't. Usually the systems are similar, just a some 'extras' that are added for the touring.

Anyway, while looking at the wiring diagram I noticed it is supplied battery power all the time, most likely to remember sensor IDs, etc.. I'm wondering what would happen if you removed power from the TPMS module? Would it reset itself and go into learning mode upon power up? It might be something worth trying.

You can either remove the + battery terminal for a period of time, or see if you can pull the fuse that supplies power to the TPMS module (I would try the fuse so you don't loose your radio and other settings). Not sure how long to let it power down, I would wait a good five minutes at least. Maybe pull it, go have lunch, put the fuse in, start it up and take it for a ride and see if it resets. On the Touring, the fuse is shown to be located in the under hood sub fuse panel, fuse #9, 7.5A. It's up to you if you want to try it, you have to go to the dealer as it is anyway... :dunno:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
24 Posts
Late post but...

I have just discovered I have the same problem. New winter tires, new sensors, TPMS light is on. Drives me crazy. Told I also have to go and get it reset. And we live 5 hours away!!!!

Is that what you ended up doing?
cheryl
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
1,247 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
16 Posts
I just depaxed my 06 Touring. The replacement sensors were recognized by my system within about 10 minutes. So apparently that year Touring doesn't need to be put in 'learning mode', it does it automatically.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
469 Posts
All models (LX, EX, and EX-L) except the Touring model (don't matter what year) needs to go to Honda to program new sensors to the van (no other way, unless you reuse the sensors). The Touring model can program new sensors by it self, just by driving below 15 mph for about 40 seconds or so, and that's it.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
10 Posts
So is it possible to add the TPMS feature to a non-Touring Odyssey? I'm considering buying a 2006 Odyssey EX-L, and notice this feature isn't included- it is on our 06 Pilot EX-L.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
38 Posts
So, do I understand correctly that my 2007 Touring will learn the new TPMS if I put on the 2007 19" MDX wheels I just bought? According to the TPMS Cross Reference chart each uses a different TPMS brand.
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
13,839 Posts
SUVNOT said:
So, do I understand correctly that my 2007 Touring will learn the new TPMS if I put on the 2007 19" MDX wheels I just bought? According to the TPMS Cross Reference chart each uses a different TPMS brand.
It will only recognize the right part so MDX's TPMS won't work. You need to get the Touring TPMS installed for the Touring to recognize 'em. If they all just worked, we wouldn't need the refrence chart now would we?

:D
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
218 Posts
Has anyone heard of or tried the ATEQ QuickSet tool to load the "winter tire" TPMS ID codes into their "non-Touring" Odyssey ECU? I have an '05 Odyssey EX-L, so this doesn't apply to my vehicle - but this is one of the recommended ways of swapping codes on my '09 Accord according to many inputs on the Drive Accord forum. (See attached web address for a quick intro to this $150 tool.)

http://tpmsoutlet.com/at-tpmquickset.aspx

From talking to ATEQ directly, it is my understanding that I can use the tool to grab the current TPMS sensor ID numbers that are currently in the vehicle's ECU. Then you use the ATEQ software to type in your four new ID numbers (say, for your winter tire set), the ATEQ tools stores both sets of data points, and swaps them into the ECU when you change tires through the OBD-II port.

Thoughts?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
7 Posts
I have been looking into this as well. I think this tool will do the trick.


MaxiTPMS® TS501

The MaxiTPMS® TS501 diagnostic & service tool is specially designed to program vehicles that do not have a TPMS relearn facility in the ECU. It is also able to work with ALL known magnetic and frequency triggered tire sensors for ALL vehicles sold worldwide.

MaxiTPMS site

It looks like it hasn't been released yet, but I'll be interested in seeing what the price is when it comes out.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
218 Posts
Curious what the price will be on that unit also. It certainly has more capabilities than the ATEQ unit, which can just swap codes in the ECU. I just got the ATEQ unit, and am going to learn how to use it on the '09 Accord tomorrow. First step, though ... I have to get the i.d. codes from the new snow tire / wheel / TPMS sensor package (bought assembled, mounted, and balanced from Tire Rack) read. Tire Rack won't tell you what the i.d. codes are, even though they could simply write them down from the individual sensors during the installation. (uggggg!!!!) They say "take them to Honda to get the sensors activated".
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6 Posts
I just found out from the Honda dealer that everytime we swap the tires from Winter to Summer (Assuming they are on different set of rim) we need to go to the dealer to re-program the sensors... Geez.... that's about C$70 each season tire swap...

:mad:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
13 Posts
Well, at least from reading this thread I now know not to even bother buying extra sensors for my winter wheels. I'll put regular valve stems in them and save the $70 each change of season. I can live with seeing the warning light for that...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
35 Posts
einy said:
Curious what the price will be on that unit also. It certainly has more capabilities than the ATEQ unit, which can just swap codes in the ECU. I just got the ATEQ unit, and am going to learn how to use it on the '09 Accord tomorrow. First step, though ... I have to get the i.d. codes from the new snow tire / wheel / TPMS sensor package (bought assembled, mounted, and balanced from Tire Rack) read. Tire Rack won't tell you what the i.d. codes are, even though they could simply write them down from the individual sensors during the installation. (uggggg!!!!) They say "take them to Honda to get the sensors activated".
Just wondering if your tool worked? How do I get the sensor ID's if both my sets of TPMS' are already installed???
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
218 Posts
I got the four codes for the four new snow tires last week, but still have to go about putting them into the ATEQ unit, and uploading them to the Accord. You can get the codes from sensors already mounted using a handheld interrigator. I don't have one, but a local (independent) repair shop does. They read the codes for me for $0 ... took all of 5 minutes. The interrigator wakes up each sensor and the code / TPMS sensor status is displayed on the handheld unit.

Will post more when I take the next step of putting the snow tires on the Accord and uploading the data to the ECU.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
218 Posts
I finally got around to doing all the necessary steps with the ATEQ TPM QuickSet this weekend, and it worked great. Hats off to Jim Chen at ATEQ for answering the couple questions I had quickly! Process goes like this:

1) Load ATEQ software onto your PC; download latest sowtware updates via internet on startup. (This was a little confusing, as the ATEQ software, even after it is updated, keeps telling you there is an update available. Just hit the "ignore" button after you have updated, and move on to the next screen)

2) Configure the ATEQ unit to your vehicle via the software prompts.

3) When the software tells you to, unplug the ATEQ unit from your PC, take it to your vehicle, and plug it into the OBD-II port (per the instructions on the PC screen). You will be download the TPMS sensor codes from your vehicle's ECU to the ATEQ unit in this step.)

4) Take the ATEQ unit back to your PC and plug it in.

(More to follow in next post)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
218 Posts
5) View (and write down to be safe) the codes that were pulled (but not deleted) from your ECU. In my case, these were for the "summer" tires that came from the factory.

6) Select "winter" mode in the ATEQ software, and input the codes for your four new (winter, in my case) TPMS sensors. For my Accord, which I believe to be similar to non-Touring Oddy's, it doesn't matter what codes goes to what wheel. Also, no code is entered for the spare tire, as it does not have a TPMS sensor in it.

7) Finish the configuration in the ATEQ software ... your ATEQ TPM QuickSet is now setup for this vehicle.

8) Change the tires on the vehicle. When done, turn the ignition "ON" but don't start the vehicle, plug the ATEQ unit into the OBD-II port, press and hold the 'summer' or 'winter' button (sun or snowflake pictures respectively) until the TPMS warning light flashes on your dash. Unplug the ATEQ unit, start you vehicle, drive a short distance, and the light will go off. Easy as that!
 
1 - 20 of 77 Posts
Top