Honda Odyssey Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
So I got a wild hair over the holidays and decided to spice up our '05 EX-L w/ RES with honda's OEM subwoofer (made by Kelton Bassworks)

http://www.hondapartsdeals.com/product_info.php?pName=subwoofer-odyssey&cName=20052008-odyssey-audio

I like the stock sound system, but wanted a little more oomph for the music and movies--thought it could use some more bass. The installation instructions are available at the link above and recommends it's not for DIY'ers, but I had no intention of paying someone to do it for me as the instructions are excellent and easy to follow. Plus, it was made specifically for our vehicles. You have to purchase the subwoofer and then the installation kit (extra $80, but you absolutely need it unless you're some kind of wiring genius).

I'm a novice tinkerer. I was able to do the entire job in about 8 hours, but I am incredibly slow and meticulous--I'd rather triple check than break something. I did it in one setting so the Mrs. wouldn't complain about her car being torn apart.

I took some pics below during the install, but it was really too lengthy for me to stop and take pics at each part. Let me summarize my thoughts from the install and my opinion of the results:
1. The plastic panels come off pretty logically. I only cracked one piece (rear cover of passenger seat track and it's too unnoticeable to want to replace). I bought a door panel removal tool (like a flat screwdriver thing) from autoparts store and that helped with leverage, but more often than not it was just prying with fingers.
2. I photographed and labeled some things to make sure I got them back in the right place. Taped screws to parts to not mix up.