Honda Odyssey Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
158 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello folks,
I would like to replace the oddy's stock antenna with a shorter one like one of those on the walkie talkie or on the VW's car. These short rubber-like kinds look sturdier than the one that comes with the oddy. Would someone suggest one that will fit the Oddy? Thanks.

·
1,484 Posts
Man you are a newbie. Anyways, you could use the antenna from an s2000. Go to the TECH section an look for "Honda S2000 Antenna Mod by Chuck Konarske" to find out what's involved in the swap.

Here's a pic of my swap:

-nemogira

·
Registered
158 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Dude, I'm a newbie at heart, but I hope I'll be an oldie some day --- soon when I have some time with my new oddy. Thanks for the tip. I checked out Chuck's mod on the attenna, but he mentioned the "chair tip cover" and some sort of screw extention that I need to attach to the S2000's attenna. Are these (chair tip cover, screw extension) something I can get from the hardware store easily? By the way, what did you use for the screw extension & the cover? Thanks.

·
1,484 Posts
Just kidding. I was once a newbie. Okay, down to business. The "screw extension" is nothing more than just a longer piece of thread with a nut. The "chair tip cover" was just a rubber foot under one of Chuck's chairs. Basically you just need something black that could cover the new extended thread. I used a plastic foot stump from an old tape deck. I then put black 3 black rubber rings (or washers) around that cover. The things you could find at the hardware store are:

• Long Thread (make sure it's the same diameter as the antenna's thread)
  • Nut (make sure it fits both threads)
  • Optional: Rubber Rings (make sure it fits around the chosen cover. Most likely it would be in the Plumbing or Gardening area of the store)