Honda Odyssey Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
In 2014 we leased our first Honda Odyssey EX-L w/ RES. I also picked up the extended warranty 8 yr / 100/120k miles as I was planning to purchase at the end of the lease. Our lease is coming to an end and now I am heavily considering just leasing a 2018 or 2017. What should be my next steps? This is my first time leasing a vehicle so I wanted to ask the pros.
My lease ends 9/20 and I have just started researching what to do. I'm a little worried I started too late!

For example,

1. How to best determine the value of the car?
2. We have a decent ding / scratch on the side of the car. Should I get it repaired myself or by the Honda dealership I leased from?
3. Do I have to return the vehicle to the same dealership I leased from if we leased through Honda financial services?
4. Do I need to have the car cleaned before setting up an inspection?
5. Can I return my warranty or apply it towards a new car?
6. Anything else you pros can share?

Thanks!

·
Registered
174 Posts
I will share my insights. This is my second lease. first one was 2012 traded that for 2015 lease.
First lease 2012 odyssey had a big iPhone 6 size scratch on bumper, couple of chips and usual dings, no dents though honda covered me under for $1500 worth damage cover as a part of some insurance. Got $3.5k over the price and used that for downpayment for 2015 lease. As per my research on lease vs buy, my opinion is that the lease is the worst thing to do financially. Essentially you are bearing the depreciation cost for the Honda. There are lot of other factors that come into play, i don't want to open it up for arguments on lease vs buy.

Here is what my suggestion.
Answer this question first. What is your goal?
- Save money long term?
if you want to keep the car long term then buy it. 2014 is a decent model you won't regret keeping it another 6-10 years.