Honda Odyssey Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been driving a 2004 Odyssey since I was 16, it now has 240k miles, and I'm almost 30 lol. As a sculpture artist, I love my '04 for it's super practical cargo hauling features: fitting 4x8 plywood, seats that collapse very flat and sturdy, ability to move 2nd row, ability to tow, and even the little tray in the middle of the two front seats with it's large cup holders that can fold down and allow me to fit 10ft. lumber flat. I drive long distances a lot, so the smooth, comfortable ride with large windows is also a plus.

I've been avoiding the inevitable, but I think I need a new minivan sooner than later at this point. My grievance is I'm finding all the newer vans have way too bulky impractical consoles and don't have as nice "bare bones" interiors as the older ones. I think they also have smaller windows with more blind spots. Also none of the back seats seem to fold totally flat anymore, the back seats kinda pop up and there's big tracks in the floor. I still want a minivan vs. an actual cargo van because I do like the ability to have all the seats and something designed for driving a lot of miles with standard maintenance.

Anyone have advice on which is still bare bones and reliable? I'm feeling overwhelmed with all the different opinions out there. I was really hoping to get a hybrid minivan but I don't like the Sienna's non removable 2nd row, and Pacifica's inability to tow. I'm not sure if either can really handle heavy loads since they aren't v6. I test drove the Pacifica hybrid and thought it felt cramped. I'm so used the '04 any new vehicle is probably going to feel weird at this point though. Anyone else already been through this dilemma and have some advice? Should I get something that will just hold me over a few years until better hybrid vans become available??

·
Registered
455 Posts