Honda Odyssey Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All,

I am a newbie here. I generally consider myself a good negotiator but I may have "negotiated" myself into a bunch of "extras" that I may not need on my new 2012 EX-L w/NAV. Don't laugh. Long story short, instead of refusing any dealer "extra add-ons" proposed by the finance manager outright when I was signing the papers like I probably should have done, I tried to negotiate a deal with him on these things that I have very little knowledge about (sure, they sounded good and I figured at $2,300, they only represent a 6% "add-on" to the OTD price of the car):

For $2,300, I got:

- Honda Care 8-yr/100K
- 36-mo free oil change (some sort of "maintenance program")
- Lojack car security system with early warning
- PermaPlate Appearance Protection (which I will need to go back to the dealership to have applied by a "professional")

Did I make a big $2,300 mistake here? I do plan to drive the car for 7-10 years at least (I am the type who buys a car and drives it to the ground but I keep my cars well-maintained).

Thanks in advance for any comments and for any insights on how any of these things I've bought may/may not actually help me.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Actually we just bought Ody so we got a similar add-on, our was used with 80K KM. It was there shuttle vehicle.

-Honda Care <--Smart!
36<--- It would have to be a pretty good deal if they offered that. $450 value in Canada
Lojack <-- I guess it depends if you are at piece of mind with this, the pre installed secuirty is all we need
-PermaPlate Appearance Protection <-- Now I'm a detailer that works with the latest and greatest polymers of paint protection systems and I can guess I think what it is. Is there a guarantee? I guarantee my clients paint protection for 2.5 years or they get a re application. I charge $200.

All in all, I think you did great!!

·
Registered
419 Posts