Honda Odyssey Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
69 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone

This is my first post and new to the forum. Im a backyard mechanic. I own an Accord, BMW 325i and 4Runner.

I've found this wonderful forum and looking to be a contributor here. I enjoy fixing my own vehicles and doing writeups of the proceedures of items I fix . I don't like taking my cars to mechanics.

As such, Im looking for a section on buying an Odyssey. Im sure this has been covered many times, but I cant seem to find much discussion area on this. Can you help me? I've been looking for two hours now.

I know the Odyssey has had it's problem with transmission - the worst problem to have.

Any advise what year to purchase to avoid the transmission problem? Is there a writeup on tranny to avoid? I can fix most anything else.

·
Premium Member
14,606 Posts
Starting in 2007, the Odyssey shares the 4 shaft tranny from the Pilot and Ridgeline. Purportedly, this has been more reliable than the 3 shaft design from previous years.

·
Registered
69 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thank you Chiody

Looks like I will start looking at this model year 2007 and I will start my research on this tranny. Thanks for getting me started. If anyone has more advise, please please share your thoughts. I really want to buy the right van off the start.

I'm looking forward to contributing to this forum once I have my Odyssey...thanks all.

·
Registered
2,604 Posts
What I've seen...the '07+ seems to have more common TC issues. Not sure why because if anything the '07+ is only very slightly different than the '05-'06. And for that matter the '05-'06 isn't much different than the previous gen. The earlier model previous gens had a ton of problems but by 2004 they were mostly fixed. I personally would have no problem buying any '05+ as far as the transmission is concerned.