Honda Odyssey Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
276 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I seem to get a lot of static while using my radio. Is there anything that can be done? Can something be added to strengthen the reception?

·
Premium Member
2,140 Posts
Is the reception exceptionally poor, compared to what you are used to in your area? If so, you could have a loose antenna connection...

If you are just in a weak signal area, your could try this:

http://www.crutchfield.com/S-mB8nV8cT2kc/cgi-bin/ProdView.asp?i=12044UA60&s=0

I have no experience with this product so can't tell you anything else....

Good luck,
SJ

------------------
DEP '01 EX no-navi

·
Registered
138 Posts
I had the same problem and so is with my cousin.

I replaced the mast on the antenna thinking that would solve it, but it didn't. I found out that having no antenna mast did not produce noticeable signal loss. I still get the static, but it didn't increase. Does this mean I could just plug the base for the mast and I won't have to worry about the antenna when I go to a car wash?

I decided to check the antenna connection into the radio. Thanks for the pics in the gallery, I was able to remove the radio without a sweat... less the scratches I made. The antenna connection was loose so I just turned and pushed it in to tighten and there it was... no more static.

If you want to check the antenna to radio connection, be very careful. Being a novice at mods, I scratched the panel. I would like to learn the techniques on how to remove panels without scratching them and how to fix the scratch because I'll be making more, of course.