Honda Odyssey Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
2004 Ody.
150 k miles.
Michelin Defender tires with 5/32 remaining.
Planning to keep the vehicle.

One of the tires was losing air. Went to Costco. They said it had a puncture in the sidewall area so was not repairable. They suggested putting 2 tires on. I had them put the temp spare on until I can figure out what to do.

I generally like to do tires in 4's rather than 2's. That said, there is some life left in these tires at 5/32. So options include:
1) 4 New tires
2) 2 New tires
3) 1 Used tire??? I've never done that before. But could buy some extra time. I know the tread depth would need to roughly match. Would it also need to be a Michelin Defender tire?

Thanks for any input!

·
Registered
1,302 Posts
This happened to me before on my old ody. I tried the 1 used tire. Bad idea. It messed up other tires. Then what I did was to get 2 walmart cheaper, softer tires. So, replace 1 tire with cheaper new tire from walmart or sears. Suggesting softer so that it wears out sooner and it might even match others when close to 2/32 ....

As for the tread pattern, it is supposed to be the same for 2 tires on 1 axle. But defenders are non-directional and those walmart tires are pretty close.

The used tires were $30. It looked ok but somehow balancing was off. You might end up with bunch of extra work.

·
Registered
8,170 Posts
Replacing just 2 tires is definitely a viable option, but you would not be able to rotate them to the other axle. So that makes this only a short-term option.

Since you are planning to keep the van, I would go all the way with a set of 4 new tires.

What's the manufacture date on the tires? They are considered expired at about 7 years. If close to that, they have less life left than the tread wear would indicate.

You may succeed in recovering some of the cost by selling the old tires.

Dave

·
Registered
1,526 Posts