Honda Odyssey Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Stupid questions i'm sure (noob here)..

I would like to start doing my own rotations on my tires...

Do you guys that rotate tires yourself bring the front left to the back right and vise versa for right side?

If so how do you jack up the front left of the car and the back right? Wouldn't this be kinda unsafe? The car would be completely on jacks right?

Also on the tire pressure sensors.. how the heck does the car know where the sensor is? (right back, front left... ect?) Is there multiple recievers?

·
Registered
309 Posts
I usually go front to back, back to front on the same side of the van

I have 2 floor jacks and jack up each side of the van so I can do this.

Otherwise, you will need to use the spare temporarily as a placeholder while you shuffle tires. I am too lazy for this :)

·
Registered
247 Posts
I follow a "forward cross" pattern:
Rear tires to front, but on opposite side of the vehicle. Front tires straight back to the rear on the same side of the vehicle.

I use two jack stands and a hydraulic jack. Break the lug nuts loose with the vehicle on the ground. Raise the front, place it on jack stands, then raise the rear with the jack.

I don't ever go under the car with it supported only by the hydraulic jack.

·
Registered
369 Posts
I do both, except with directional tires (Traction T/A's on my Accord).

Xcrossing the tires definitly gives you the most even 4 tire wear over time.

·
Registered
463 Posts
I do mine like firemann1 as far as placementr, which is what my manual calls for, but I use the spare in this process and just jack up one corner at a time. To me this is the safest way, and although it is a little more work, you might need to pull out the spare to check the pressure anyway.