Honda Odyssey Forum banner

1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I've noticed my '08 Odyssey Touring is slipping a little too much on wet roads even with a light foot. With winter coming, should I get a set of winter tires and then come spring get other tires? Or should I just get all season tires. On a tighter budget but I want what is best as I am a young driver! Also I live in northeast ohio.

·
Registered
11 Posts
There’s not a best answer. There are better choices for varying circumstances. I live in NC & all season is the way to go. In the very unlikely circumstance where we get snow... we mostly buy milk & bread (why???) ¯\(ツ)/¯ and we stay home a few hours or even a day.

OTOH, my son lives in CT. When it snows (a LOT), and you need to drive before your route is plowed, you drive on snow. 100% chance he, his co-workers, and neighbors drive on snow several times a year - and everybody who has the financial means switches to snow tires in winter (many do so for only one car; that’s the one you take if you absolutely have to drive in the snow).

Hopefully, this helps you make an informed choice!

·
Registered
394 Posts
I'm in the Chicago suburbs and I've always run all seasons on anything front wheel drive. I am only getting snow tires on my RWD car because my mom is driving it and I'd rather be safe than sorry

Sent from my ONEPLUS A5000 using Tapatalk

·
Registered
71 Posts
"All weather" tires are harder compound tires than snow tires and less sticky to the road below 7 degrees celsius, which is 44.6 degrees F for my American neighbors. Without factoring in snow tread for snowy areas--the snow or winter tire softer rubber compound will give you far better traction (and safety) in colder areas." All season " tires are a real traction compromise in cold climates. The choice is yours. My Ody was terrible in the cold and the snow with "All Seasons". Never again.

·
Registered
3,383 Posts