Honda Odyssey Forum banner

1 - 20 of 52 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Wife and I have an 05 Pilot EX-L RES, but it has 150k miles, and with twins in the way in the spring (to add to our 4yo), we're looking minivan. Stopped by a Honda dealership last night to check out the Ody EX-L RES just before they closed. Salesman let us drive it alone, and overall, we liked it. He was a bit lazy and wanted to go home, which suited me fine as I was going to email other dealerships for quotes today. Then, just now, I realize that the Ody only comes in FWD. Forgive me, as I'm new to minivans in general, but even in snowy NH, Honda doesn't think we need AWD? And for that matter, so does every other automaker save for Toyota? What is the rationale behind this? It'll likely push us to a Sienna or a newer Pilot, but it's absolutely ruled us out of a new Ody. And it kinda boggles my mind.

·
Registered
786 Posts
There have been talks about the new Quest having it, and keep in mind that all AWD Siennas come with runflats.

·
Registered
401 Posts
AWD does not a great driver make. Up here in northeastern Ontario, I have never had any problems that good driving and snow tires can't get you out of. I wouldn't let AWD be the determining factor.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Snow tires are all well and good on a FWD, but my order of preference would go something like this:

1 - Snow tires on an AWD vehicle
2 - Stock tires on an AWD vehicle
3 - Snow tires on a FWD vehicle

We have stockers on the AWD 05 Pilot and it's a tank in the snow. And to give you an idea of where I'm coming from, I used to rally and autocross and have spent a good amount of time at the Team O'Neil rally school up north. This next car will be for my wife and not me, but I still prefer an AWD vehicle for her. Just equal parts bummed/amazed that the market doesn't demand AWD vans, I guess.

·
Registered
506 Posts