Honda Odyssey Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My mom drives TONS of miles. 100 minimum per day. I just changed her oil a couple weeks ago and she is due for another oil change in 500 miles. The previous owner used mineral oil. I want to extend the OCI from 3k to 5k using synthetic. How can I tell if there is sludge in the engine and this is a bad idea? The car was bought used from a dealer at 50k (had carfax but didnt have the honda dealer service history) and the oil in it was good. I would hate to put synthetic in there and loosen up sludge and toast then engine. thanks

·
Registered
129 Posts
In my opinion...there seems to be mixed feelings on doing engine flushes based on my own research. Some think it can do more harm than good.

Go to this link and read the bold section titled Engine Flushes--The Latest Scam

I am by no means an expert but I don't think you can go wrong with a synthetic whether you have sludge or not. My 2003 Ody loves the Amsoil Siganture Series Motor Oil. Mobil 1, Redline, etc are all great synthetics as well. Changing the oil with a synthetic, a higher end oil filter, etc. may help.

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
rpedersen said:
In my opinion...there seems to be mixed feelings on doing engine flushes based on my own research. Some think it can do more harm than good.

Go to this link and read the bold section titled Engine Flushes--The Latest Scam

I am by no means an expert but I don't think you can go wrong with a synthetic whether you have sludge or not. My 2003 Ody loves the Amsoil Siganture Series Motor Oil. Mobil 1, Redline, etc are all great synthetics as well. Changing the oil with a synthetic, a higher end oil filter, etc. may help.