Honda Odyssey Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am in the beginning stages of collecting parts to change the t-belt and water pump this fall on my (new to me) 2005 EXL with 99k. My first question is, is there any honda special tools needed to do this job? I am an ASE tech and have plenty of Volvo special tools, but wasn't sure if I needed any Honda tools to do this job.

Also, is there anything unusual about this job? I've done a bunch of 4cyl Honda t-belts, and they are as straightforward as they come. Is there anything I need to be aware of when I dive into this job?

Finally, I prefer OEM parts. Know of any websites to buy OEM parts cheaper than a dealer?

Any help/insight is greatly appreciated. This forum is priceless for my and my new used van!
Thanks!

Sent from my iPhone using Autoguide

·
Registered
2 Posts
I am in the beginning stages of collecting parts to change the t-belt and water pump this fall on my (new to me) 2005 EXL with 99k. My first question is, is there any honda special tools needed to do this job? I am an ASE tech and have plenty of Volvo special tools, but wasn't sure if I needed any Honda tools to do this job.

Also, is there anything unusual about this job? I've done a bunch of 4cyl Honda t-belts, and they are as straightforward as they come. Is there anything I need to be aware of when I dive into this job?

Finally, I prefer OEM parts. Know of any websites to buy OEM parts cheaper than a dealer?

Any help/insight is greatly appreciated. This forum is priceless for my and my new used van!
Thanks!

Sent from my iPhone using Autoguide
Asin not sure if spelt correct but there apparently the best for t belt and water pump kits

·
Registered
106 Posts

·
Registered
3,319 Posts
Most people here go with the Aisin timing belt kit. It is high quality and OEM equivalent. $180 on Rock Auto.

·
Registered
2007 Odyssey EX-L
161 Posts