Honda Odyssey Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all, I am an ASE technician. If you have a tranny issu such as slipping or hard shifting chances are it's just 1 or three pressure switches/sensors. I recently had an Odyssey come in with all engine lights on and would not shift into 2nd gear. I replaced the 3rd clutch switch $80 and now it runs like new. Trust me on this, us mechanics are trained to lie cheat and steal. Never replace a tranny in a honda unless all 3 switches have been checked or replaced. 3 times now that has been the issue. I even took an old tranny that was replaced and it also just needed an $80 pressure switch. Shops are robbing you guys out there. Oh yeah and it's so easy to replace a child could do it. One is under the batt. box (2-3 gear shift switch) and takes 10 mins to change. There are 2 more on the top of the tranny kinda close to the dip stick hole.

·
Registered
4 Posts
A few days ago I had trouble with my 2003 Odyssey. Stopped at car wash, couldn't put it in gear to pull into bay. I couldnt even move shift arm into drive position, only reverseand park but even in reverse it didnt ctually reverse. Put it in park & shut off, then tried again and it worked fine. Honda service said it was my transmission, bits of clutch pad were getting into fluid and plugging transmission lines, $6k to replace transmission. Do you think it could really be switches? Any way to test without replacing switches?

·
Super Moderator
13,642 Posts