Honda Odyssey Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my first post on this forum. I have been working on Hondas for many years and this is my first honda odyssey. I bought it with a bad motor, had a rod go through the block.

Long story short i replaced the motor. First test drive everything seemed fine. But now I'm having trouble with the transmission. It was a rebuild from AAMCO and apparently only has about 12k miles on it.

The problem is shifting into the gears. I can no longer go below D4 and when i shift into Reverse it just revs the motor like its in neutral. I can't get into D3, 2, 1. Reverse was working when we first were testing eveything, then we lost it and cant go below D4. I can drive it around in D4. Also when in park, the speedometer revs with the tacometer. So if i rev the motor the speedometer goes up just like the tacometer.

This is my first automatic Honda transmission. Any help would be appreciated.

·
Registered
821 Posts
This is my first post on this forum. I have been working on Hondas for many years and this is my first honda odyssey. I bought it with a bad motor, had a rod go through the block.

Long story short i replaced the motor. First test drive everything seemed fine. But now I'm having trouble with the transmission. It was a rebuild from AAMCO and apparently only has about 12k miles on it.

The problem is shifting into the gears. I can no longer go below D4 and when i shift into Reverse it just revs the motor like its in neutral. I can't get into D3, 2, 1. Reverse was working when we first were testing eveything, then we lost it and cant go below D4. I can drive it around in D4. Also when in park, the speedometer revs with the tacometer. So if i rev the motor the speedometer goes up just like the tacometer.

This is my first automatic Honda transmission. Any help would be appreciated.

What year is your Honda? Search this website. Transmissions are a known problem with Honda.