Honda Odyssey Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The following is a post from a member on another Odyssey thread. Any comments/ suggestions/ feedback/ experiences and PROS and CONS are sincerely appreciated, since I'm seriously condisering this. The savings on an EXL amounts to more than $5000 US.

NAFTA was put in place between our countries to promote free trade, which improves our standard of living. Honda Corp. is working against both the US and Canadian governments by putting back a tariff that they worked hard to eliminate.

Having purchased a Canadian Odyssey while being a US resident, I found the process simple and legally supported by every US and Canadian governmental agency (note the references below to forms and process on both sides of the border). Honda is the only impediment here. All in all, the issues do not outweigh the benefits - and I would (will?) do it all over again for the $5KUS in saving for my 1999 EX.

Number 2 - A couple of things you need to know if you are going to execute this. First, the easiest way for the Canadian dealer (and yourself) is if you have a Canadian drivers license. Though this may seem unreasonable - for many of us, the Canadian border is only a short distance away. A CND DL negates all of the barriers Honda has put in place (for now). Before you go to pick up the car, you need to follow the instructions on the NHTSA and EPA web sites to get letters from the manufacturers. This is a no big deal thing. One e-mail to the manufacturer (using contacts on the web sites) and this was done. You will need this when you come across the border on the US side. The only other thing you need is insurance for the vehicle before entering the US. This is also a no big deal thing. You only need the VIN number to make this happen with your local agent. Your insurance agent should also give you a temporary Canadian insurance card - shows that the car is insured even though it is in Canada.