Honda Odyssey Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've seen a few threads of people asking before but it looks like they never got answers, just people suggesting alternatives. Does anyone know where the hard drive or more likely flash media is that the ODY uses for internal storage? I'd like to upgrade mine to something about 2 or 3 terabytes. I'm an IT engineer with a degree in EE. Even if the interface isn't already suitable to straight swap it, I'd like to take a whirl at creating an interface myself.

First I need to know physically where the internal storage is at, though. Anyone have an idea?

·
Registered
1,115 Posts
I can hear what sounds like a hard drive behind the dash. Needs to be fairly quiet but I can hear something that sounds like a drive spin up just to the left of the glove box about mid way up. Without looking at a Honda tech bulletin this would be my best guess.

·
Registered
154 Posts
I don't know where it is, but I doubt it's a 3.5" HD (so an easy swap to 3TB would be tough). However, if there's physically some room, I'm sure you could wire something up off the SATA bus to adapt to something bigger. I wouldn't imagine there would be too much problem with imaging the drive and replacing (not unlike a Series 2 TiVo).

·
Registered
3,292 Posts
I've seen a few threads of people asking before but it looks like they never got answers, just people suggesting alternatives. Does anyone know where the hard drive or more likely flash media is that the ODY uses for internal storage? I'd like to upgrade mine to something about 2 or 3 terabytes. I'm an IT engineer with a degree in EE. Even if the interface isn't already suitable to straight swap it, I'd like to take a whirl at creating an interface myself.

First I need to know physically where the internal storage is at, though. Anyone have an idea?