Honda Odyssey Forum banner

1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Quick questions for those that swap tires/wheels in the winter. Do you run the winter tires without sensors? If so does it cause any problems I should be aware of besides the annoying light?

Thanks,
Steve

·
Registered
1 Posts
I am no expert but I have heard that the annoying light is the only problem, not to mention the reliance on a human being to check the pressure once in awhile. ;)

·
Registered
186 Posts
No issue. My co worker does this every winter with his winter tires that do not have a tpms sensor. No issue other than the tpms light being continuously lit all winter long.

·
Registered
47 Posts
Using wheel/rims without TPMS will effect 3 things:
1. TPMS dashlight indicator stay on all the time
2. Have to check tire pressure without TPMS warning of low pressure
3. VSC (Vehicle Stability Control) defaults to always "on" mode. In other words if you have a dash switch to disengage VSC, it will not disengage it without sensors in place that are programmed to vehicle.

I have run my Ody without TPMS sensors in my winter wheels. The issues above are not worth the cost of buying and programming sensors. As for VSC, why would you want to turn it off in winter anyway.

·
Banned
728 Posts
I'm not sure why the TPMS sensor issue causes so much concern. There is an initial cost to install them on your winter set and have the dealer program them. After that, my service manager says you can swap sets without reprogramming the vehicle as it can store information for 2 sets.

I'll be buying a winter set in a couple of weeks and will add the monitors. Winter is the time I really want to know if I have a leak, so I don't get left sitting on the side of a -25C degree road. :(

·
Registered
118 Posts